Home 2019 Elections Arlington Democrats to Hold Four Debates for County Board Candidates

Arlington Democrats to Hold Four Debates for County Board Candidates


From the Arlington County Democratic Committee:


Arlington, VA – The Arlington County Democratic Committee (ACDC) will sponsor a series of debates for the candidates for the Democratic nomination to fill the County Board seat being vacated in January by the resignation of Chris Zimmerman. The debates for the Democratic candidates will be held on the following dates:


Wednesday, January 8 at 7:00-9:00 p.m. – National Rural Electric Cooperative Assoc.     

4301 Wilson Boulevard (entrance on N. Taylor St.) Click here for map. (N.B.: the first debate 
will take place during the regular ACDC monthly meeting and should begin after 7:40 p.m.)

Saturday, January 18 at 2:00-4:00 p.m. – Campbell School (in the multi-purpose room)

737 South Carlin Springs Rd.‎ Click here for map

Thursday, January 23 at 8:00-9:00 p.m. – Glebe School (in the multi-purpose room) 

1770 North Glebe Rd‎. Click here for map.

Monday, January 27 at 8:00-9:00 p.m. – Drew School (in the multi-purpose room) 

3500 South 23rd St. Click here for map.


15 minutes prior to each debate, ACDC officials will explain the new process for instant run-off voting that will be employed in this caucus. Instead of voting a single choice, voters will be asked to rank their candidates in order of preference. Votes are then tallied by preference until a candidate receives more than 50% of votes. For more information about instant run-off voting, see http://www.fairvote.org/what-is-irv/.


The Arlington Young Democrats will also sponsor a debate for the Democratic candidates on Wednesday, January 15 from 7:30-9:00 p.m. at the National Rural Electric Cooperative Assoc. (NRECA) 4301 Wilson Boulevard. Click here for map. In addition to the debates, ACDC has invited the Democratic candidates to attend their Second Saturday Breakfast for a Meet and Greet gathering at Busboys and Poets in Shirlington (4251 Campbell Ave, ‎click here for map) on January 4 (the first Saturday) at 8:30 am


Three candidates—Peter Fallon, Alan Howze, and Cord Thomas—announced their intention to seek the Democratic Party’s nomination for County Board at ACDC’s December meeting. Potential candidates for the nomination must declare and file a letter of intent with the ACDC Chair before January 20, 2014.


The Democratic Party’s nominee will be selected at an unassembled caucus on Thursday, January 30, 2014 (7 p.m. to 9 p.m.) at Key Elementary School (2300 Key Blvd, ‎click here for map) and Saturday, February 1, 2014 (11 a.m. to 7 p.m.) at Kenmore Middle School (200 S. Carlin Springs Rd,‎ click here for map). The Circuit Court will set a date for the special election after Mr. Zimmerman vacates the County Board seat.      


Sign up for the Blue Virginia weekly newsletter

Previous articleTwelve Days of Christmas for Virginia Democrats: Day Eight, Swing Voters
Next articleVideo: Del. Scott Surovell Gives 4 Reasons to Support Sue Langley for FCDC Chair