Home 2019 Elections Eight of Top Ten Fundraisers for House of Delegates Races Are Democrats

Eight of Top Ten Fundraisers for House of Delegates Races Are Democrats


From the Virginia House Democratic Caucus:

Eight of Top Ten Fundraisers for House of Delegates Races Are Democrats

RICHMOND, Va. – Eight of the top ten fundraisers for House of Delegates races during the last reporting period were Democrats, according to an analysis compiled today by the Virginia Public Access Project.

The reporting period covered September 1 through September 30.

“These formidable numbers speak to the strength of our candidates and the tremendous energy we’re feeling this year in Virginia,” said House Democratic Leader David. J. Toscano and Caucus Chair Charniele Herring. “These filings prove that as we enter the home stretch, enthusiasm continues to grow, and people are more ready than ever to elect Democrats this November. Our message is clear, and Virginians are listening – we will fight to expand affordable health care and stand up to Republican attacks on women’s health. We couldn’t be more thankful for this outpouring of grassroots support, and we are ready to continue this momentum through Election Day.”

The eight top Democratic fundraisers were:

Chris Hurst, District 12.
Elizabeth Guzman, District 31.
Hala Ayala, District 51.
Delegate John Bell, District 87.
David Reid, District 32.
Kathy Tran, District 42.
Karrie Delaney, District 67.
Jennifer Carroll Foy, District 2.

The following Democrats running for currently GOP-held seats outraised their Republican opponents.*

Jennifer Carroll Foy outraised Michael Makee in District 2.
Bill Bunch outraised Delegate Will Morefield in District 3.
Wendy Gooditis outraised Delegate Randy Minchew in District 10.
Chris Hurst outraised Delegate Joseph Yost in District 12.
Danica Roem outraised Delegate Bob Marshall in District 13.
Djuna Osborne outraised Delegate Chris Head in District 17.
Brent Finnegan outraised Delegate Tony Wilt in District 26.
Ben Hixon outraised Delegate Nick Freitas in District 30.
Elizabeth Guzman outraised Delegate Scott Lingamfelter in District 31.
David Reid outraised Delegate Tag Greason in District 32.
Tia Walbridge outraised Delegate Dave LaRock in District 33.
Donte Tanner outraised Delegate Tim Hugo in District 40.
Kathy Tran outraised Lolita Mancheno-Smoak in District 42.
Hala Ayala outraised Delegate Rich Anderson in District 51.
Al Durante outraised Delegate Bobby Orrock in District 54.
Morgan Goodman outraised Delegate Buddy Fowler in District 55.
Melissa Dart outraised John McGuire in District 56.
Rebecca Colaw outraised Emily Brewer in District 64.
Karrie Delaney outraised Delegate Jim LeMunyon in District 67.
Schuyler VanValkenburg outraised Eddie Whitlock in District 72.
Veronica Coleman outraised Delegate Glenn Davis in District 84.
Shelly Simonds outraised Delegate David Yancey in District 94.
Kelly DeLucia outraised Delegate Brenda Pogge in District 96.
Willie Randall outraised Delegate Rob Bloxom in District 100.

*The amounts reflect in-kind contributions, but not loans.


Sign up for the Blue Virginia weekly newsletter

Previous articleVideo: NBC Highlights Kellen Squire and Jennifer Carroll Foy
Next articleDoes the 25th Amendment Apply Here?