Home 2019 Elections Delegate Lopez Wins Over 75 Endorsements From Democratic Leaders and Organizations Across...

Delegate Lopez Wins Over 75 Endorsements From Democratic Leaders and Organizations Across Virginia


The following is from the Del. Alfonso Lopez (D) for reelection campaign. I also strongly endorse Del. Lopez for reeelection, as he’s done a great job for his district and for Virginia…including being one of the most progressive legislators in the Virginia General Assembly, as well as being a leader on a wide variety of issues – environment, immigration, health care, affordable housing, etc. Go Alfonso!

Delegate Lopez Wins Over 75 Endorsements From Democratic Leaders and Organizations Across Virginia

Momentum reaches all-time high 57 days out from June election

ARLINGTON, Va. – Today, Delegate Alfonso Lopez (D-Arlington) earned the endorsements of U.S. Senator Tim Kaine, former Governor Terry McAuliffe, and 75 other organizations and current and former Democratic elected officials representing Virginia at the local, state, and federal level for his re-election to the House of Delegates from the 49th district. Building on top of that momentum, Delegate Alfonso Lopez finished the fundraising period with over $102,000 in the bank going into the June Primary.

“Alfonso is a trusted friend and adviser,” said Senator Kaine. “I’ve seen firsthand his tireless work on behalf of Virginia families and how deeply he cares about helping those in need. With his strong legislative and public policy experience, the people of the 49th District are lucky to have Alfonso as their voice in Richmond.”

“I am honored to have the support of so many elected officials and advocacy organizations who are helping to move Virginia forward,” said Delegate Lopez. “From championing legislation and increasing funding for the Virginia Affordable Housing Trust Fund to expanding Medicaid coverage to over 5,600 residents of the 49th district and 400,000 Virginians, I’m proud of what we’ve accomplished together. If re-elected, I vow to continue fighting for our community’s progressive values in the General Assembly and across Virginia.”

Delegate Lopez was elected to his fourth term in 2017 and has a 100% rating from the Virginia Education Association, the Virginia League of Conservation Voters, and the Virginia A.F.L.-C.I.O.

Full Endorsement List:

State Elected Officials
U.S. Senator Tim Kaine; former Governor (2006-2010)
Governor Terry McAuliffe (2014-2018)
Senate of Virginia
Senator Monty Mason, 1st District
Senator Mamie Locke, 2nd District; Chair of the Senate Democratic Caucus
Senator Lionell Spruill, Sr., 5th District
Senator Jennifer McClellan, 9th District
Senator L. Louise Lucas, 18th District
Senator Jeremy McPike, 29th District
Senator Adam Ebbin, 30th District
Senator Janet Howell, 32nd District
Senator Scott Surovell, 36th District
Senator Dave Marsden, 37th District

Virginia House of Delegates
Delegate Wendy Gooditis, 10th District
Delegate Sam Rasoul, 11th District
Delegate Chris Hurst, 12th District
Delegate Kelly Fowler, 21st District
Delegate Elizabeth Guzman, 31st District
Delegate David Reid, 32nd District
Delegate Kathleen Murphy, 34th District
Delegate Mark Keam, 35th District
Delegate Ken Plum, 36th District
Delegate David Bulova, 37th District
Delegate Kaye Kory, 38th District
Delegate Vivian Watts, 39th District
Delegate Eileen Filler-Corn, 41st District; Minority Leader of the Virginia House of Delegates
Delegate Kathy Tran, 42nd District
Delegate Mark Sickles, 43rd District
Delegate Paul Krizek, 44th District
Delegate Mark Levine, 45th District
Delegate Patrick Hope, 47th District
Delegate Rip Sullivan, 48th District
Delegate Hala Ayala, 51st District
Delegate Luke Torian, 52nd District
Delegate Marcus Simon, 53rd District
Delegate David Toscano, 57th District; Minority Leader Emeritus
Delegate Lashrecse Aird, 63rd District
Delegate Karrie Delaney, 67th District
Delegate Dawn Adams, 68th District
Delegate Betsy Carr, 69th District
Delegate Delores McQuinn, 70th District
Delegate Jeff Bourne, 71st District
Delegate Schuyler VanValkenburg, 72nd District
Delegate Debra Rodman, 73rd District
Delegate Lamont Bagby, 74th District; Chair of the Virginia Legislative Black Caucus
Delegate Roslyn Tyler, 75th District
Delegate Cliff Hayes, Jr., 77th District
Delegate Steve Heretick, 79th District
Delegate Matthew James, 80th District
Delegate Cheryl Turpin, 85th District
Delegate John Bell, 87th District
Delegate Jay Jones, 89th District
Delegate Joseph Lindsey, 90th District
Delegate Jeion Ward, 92nd District
Delegate Mike Mullin, 93rd District
Delegate Karen Darner, 49th District (former)

Local Elected Officials/Candidates
Christian Dorsey, Chair of the Arlington County Board
Erik Gutshall, Arlington County Board Member
Matt de Ferranti, Arlington County Board Member
Jay Fisette, Arlington County Board Member (former)
J. Walter Tejada, Arlington County Board Member (former)
Chris Zimmerman, Arlington County Board Member (former)
Sharon Bulova, Chairman of the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors
Mayor Justin Wilson, City of Alexandria
Reid Goldstein, Chair of the Arlington County School Board
Nancy Van Doren, Arlington County School Board Member
Monique O’Grady, Arlington County School Board Member
Emma Violand-Sanchez, Arlington County School Board Chair and Member (former)
Paul Ferguson, Clerk of the Circuit Court of Arlington County & the City of Falls Church
Sheriff Beth Arthur, Arlington County
Ricardy Anderson, Fairfax County School Board – Mason District Candidate
Andres Tobar, House of Delegates – 47th District Candidate (former)

Virginia Education Association
Arlington Professional Firefighters & Paramedics Association
Clean Virginia
IBEW Local 26
Keystone Mountain Lakes Regional Council of Carpenters


Delegate Alfonso Lopez is the whip of the Virginia House Democratic Caucus and represents the 49th District in the House of Delegates, which includes parts of South Arlington and Eastern Fairfax County.

There's no paywall on Blue Virginia, and we definitely want to keep it that way! If you want to help support our work, you can donate here - thanks! Also, you can sign up for our weekly email list here.