Home 2020 Elections Bernie Sanders Campaign Announces Co-Chairs Across All Super Tuesday States, Including Virginia

Bernie Sanders Campaign Announces Co-Chairs Across All Super Tuesday States, Including Virginia


From the Bernie Sanders for President campaign:

NEWS: Sanders Campaign Announces Co-Chairs Across All Super Tuesday States
February 14, 2020

WASHINGTON – Following Sen. Sanders’ victory in New Hampshire, Bernie 2020 on Friday released a slate of over fifty state Co-Chairs across all Super Tuesday states. The Co-Chairs represent a diverse coalition of progressive elected officials, local activists and community leaders that show the strength of Senator Sanders’ “Not Me, Us” movement in communities across the country.

“From Maine to California, Bernie 2020 is ready to compete and win in states across the country. We are the first campaign to release a slate of Co-Chairs, who will helm campaign efforts, in each of the Super Tuesday States,” said Bernie 2020 National Political Director Analilia Mejia. “These Co-Chairs represent Bernie’s multi-racial, multi-generational, working class movement to take on Donald Trump, and we are proud to work alongside them to build a progressive movement and elect Senator Bernie Sanders as the next President of the United States.”

Co-Chairs include Rep. Ilhan Omar (MN-05) and Sen. Patrick Leahy (VT), Minnesota Attorney General Keith Ellison, Massachusetts’ Varshini Prakash, Executive Director and Co-Founder of Sunrise Movement, and over 15 community leaders with deep ties to the environmental, racial justice and economic justice movements.

Since Sanders’ wins in Iowa and New Hampshire, the campaign has announced efforts to immediately increase staffing in Super Tuesday states and invest more than $5.5 million in television and digital ads in ten Super Tuesday states.

The slate of campaign Co-Chairs includes:

  • Virginia Applebaum – Vice Chair, SDEC Native American Caucus, Co-Chair
  • Gregory J. Bentley – Pastor, Huntsville Fellowship Presbyterian Church, Co-Chair
    Jerome Dees – Criminal Defense & Civil Rights Attorney, Co-Chair
    Richard A. Rice – Public Interest Attorney & Co-Founder, Grassroots Coalition Birmingham, Co-Chair


  • Sarah Marsh – Fayetteville City Council Member (Ward 1, Position 2) & Community Builder, Co-Chair
  • Doris Wright – Little Rock City Director (Ward 6), Co-Chair


  • Morning Star Gali – Project Director, Restoring Justice for Indigenous Peoples, Co-Chair
  • Allen Hernandez – Inland Empire Environmental Justice Leader, Co-Chair
  • Nikayla Jefferson – Lead Organizer, Sunrise Movement San Diego, Co-Chair
  • Kimi Lee – Executive Director, Bay Rising Action, Co-Chair
  • Lupe Martinez – Environmental Justice Community Advocate, Co-Chair
  • Daisy Vega – Co-Founder & Board Treasurer, Ground Game LA, Co-Chair


  • Radhika Nath – Disability Rights Advocate & Policy Expert, Co-Chair
  • Joe Salazar – Former State Representative & WFP Executive Committee, Co-Chair
  • Juan Marcano – Aurora City Councilmember (Ward 4), Vice-Chair
  • Mike Merrifield – Former State Senator (District 11), Vice-Chair


  • Jonathan Fishman – Musician, Phish, Co-Chair
  • Troy Jackson – State Senate President (District 1), Co-Chair
  • Safiya Khalid – Lewiston City Councilor, Co-Chair
  • Briar Lyons – Business Owner, Lincolnville General Store & Elderflower Farm, Co-Chair
  • Rachel Talbot Ross – State Representative (District 40), Co-Chair


  • Mike Connolly – State Representative (26th Middlesex), Co-Chair
  • Jamie Eldridge, State Senator (Middlesex & Worcester District), Co-Chair
  • Nika Elugardo – State Representative (15th Suffolk), Co-Chair
  • Paul R. Feeney – State Senator (Bristol & Norfolk District), Co-Chair
  • Paul Mark – State Representative (2nd Berkshire), Co-Chair
  • Varshini Prakash – Co-Founder & Executive Director, Sunrise Movement, Co-Chair
  • Lindsay Sabadosa – State Representative (1st Hampshire), Co-Chair


  • Keith Ellison – MN Attorney General, Co-Chair
  • Ilhan Omar – U.S. Representative (CD-5), Co-Chair
  • Alondra Cano – Minneapolis City Council Member (Ward 9), Vice-Chair
  • Winona LaDuke – Co-Founder, Honor the Earth, Vice-Chair
  • John Marty – State Senator (District 66), Vice-Chair
  • Joel Sipress – Duluth City Council Member (District 2), Vice-Chair

North Carolina

  • Jillian Johnson – Durham Mayor Pro Tempore, Co-Chair
  • LaTarndra Strong – Founder, Hate Free Schools Coalition, Activist & Community Organizer, Co-Chair


  • Jesse Jackson, Jr. – Pastor, Oklahoma City East Sixth Street Christian Church, Co-Chair
  • LaRenda Morgan – Governmental Affairs Officer, Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes, Co-Chair
  • Alison A. Petrone – Norman City Councilor, Co-Chair
  • Jacob Rosecrants – State Representative (District 46), Co-Chair


  • Emily Benedict – Nashville Metro City Councilwoman (District 7), Co-Chair
  • Delishia Porterfield – Nashville Metro City Councilwoman (District 29), Co-Chair
  • Zulfat Suara – Nashville Metro City Councilwoman (At-Large 5), Co-Chair


  • Greg Casar – Austin City Council Member (District 4), Co-Chair
  • Jim Hightower – Editor, Hightower Lowdown & Former TX Agriculture Commissioner, Co-Chair
  • S. Lee Merritt – Civil Rights Attorney, Co-Chair
  • Farrukh Shamsi – Former Vice Chair, State Democratic Party, Co-Chair


  • Rosalba Dominguez – Murray City Councilwomyn (District 3), Co-Chair
  • Dustin Gettel – Midvale City Councilmember (District 5), Co-Chair
  • Elizabeth Payne – Murray City School Board Member (District 4) & UT Progressive Caucus Chair, Co-Chair
  • Angela Romero – State Representative (District 26) & Democratic Caucus Assistant Whip, Co-Chair
  • Lex Scott – Founder, Black Lives Matter Utah & United Front Civil Rights Organization, Co-Chair


  • Patrick Leahy – U.S. Senator, Co-Chair
  • Peter Welch – U.S. Representative (At-Large), Co-Chair


  • Lee Carter – House Delegate (District 50), Co-Chair
  • Elizabeth Guzman – House Delegate (District 31), Co-Chair
  • Abrar Omeish – Fairfax County School Board Member (At-Large), Co-Chair
  • Koran Saines – Loudoun County Supervisor (Sterling District), Co-Chair
  • Jonathan Sokolow – Attorney, Writer & Activist, Co-Chair

Additional information on state Co-Chairs here.
Positions and organizations listed for identification purposes only, and do not imply formalized institutional support.


Sign up for the Blue Virginia weekly newsletter

Previous articleMark Warner Announces Key Campaign Hires
Next articleMaking Virginia Great For Workers As Well As Great For Business