START Achieves Cloture; 28 Republicans Vote “Nay” on National Security


    With a 67-28 Senate cloture vote this afternoon, it now looks like the new START Treaty will easily be ratified, most likely tomorrow. That’s great news, which we should all celebrate. Except for the following 28 members of the politics-over-national-security Republican caucus:

    Barrasso (WY), Bunning (KY), Burr (NC), Chambliss (GA), Coburn (OK), Cornyn (TX), Crapo (ID), DeMint (SC), Ensign (NV), Enzi (WY), Graham (SC), Grassley (IA), Hatch (UT), Hutchison (TX), Inhofe (OK), Johanns (NE), Kirk (IL), Kyl (AZ), LeMieux (FL), McCain (AZ), McConnell (KY), Risch (ID), Roberts (KS), Sessions (AL), Shelby (AL), Thune (SD), Vitter (LA), Wicker (MS)

    They should all be very proud of themselves. True American patriots. Not.


    Sign up for the Blue Virginia weekly newsletter

    Previous articleIs the House of Delegates Too Small?
    Next articleRemembering BP’s Many Smokescreens