Fairfax County Democrats Elect New Chair and Officers


    Contact: Frank Anderson, Exec. Director


    Tel. 703.573.6811

    January 4, 2012

    Email: frank@fairfaxdemocrats.org

    Fairfax County Democrats Elect New Chair and Officers

    FALLS CHURCH – Members of the Fairfax County Democratic Committee met on January 3rd to select a new Chair and twelve Officers.  In the tightly contested Chair’s election for which 72% of FCDC members turned out, Cesar del Aguila of Herndon emerged victorious by just four votes.  

    “On Tuesday evening FCDC chose new leadership full of energy and representative diversity to keep Northern Virginia moving forward,” said del Aguila.  “I’m optimistic that with this new team, we’ll take the largest Democratic committee in Virginia to a new level of effectiveness and influence in 2012 and beyond.”

    Members chose twelve Officers, nine of whom are newly elected to those positions.  The full Officers list (excluding District Chairs who were elected last month) is as follows:

    Vice Chair South:  Christopher Ambrose

    Vice Chair North:  Sue Langley

    Vice Chair Central:  Carrie Nixon

    Vice Chair for Precinct Operations:  Tania Hossain

    Vice Chair for Technology:  Todd Smyth

    Vice Chair for Voter Registration and Get Out the Vote Operations:  Chrisi West

    Vice Chair for Finance:  Kristin Cabral

    Vice Chair for Outreach:  Martin Taylor

    Corresponding Secretary:  Bridget Murphy

    Recording Secretary:  Matthew Bell

    Treasurer:  Nadja Z. Golding

    Assistant Treasurer:  Sue Thomas

    # # #


    Sign up for the Blue Virginia weekly newsletter

    Previous articleKaine Campaign Announces Additional Staff Hires
    Next articleVirginia News Headlines: Thursday Morning