Home 2019 Elections 8th CD Candidates’ Filing Update from 8th CD Chair Margo Horner

8th CD Candidates’ Filing Update from 8th CD Chair Margo Horner


Good Evening,

It has been an especially long day.  And a tough one too!  This was the first filing that I did not receive Jim Moran’s documents as a Congressional Candidate.

I wanted to send the committee an update on today’s Filing deadline for 8th Congressional District Candidates.

If anyone on the Eighth District is contemplating a future run for Congress, I would like to offer some guidance.  First and foremost, file early — as early as permitted by the State Board of Elections.

Seven Congressional Candidates filed on the first day — March 10.

The Congressional  Candidates submitted the following documents:

1) Declaration of Candidacy;

2) Petitions containing at least 1,000 signatures of qualified voters in the Eighth Congressional District; and

3) A Receipt from the State Board of Elections (SBE) in Richmond for payment of thePrimary Filing Fee of $3,480.

Arlington and the City of Alexandria registrars reviewed the signatures on the seven Congressional Candidates’ Petitions and the seven candidates were qualified.

Those seven Congressional Candidates who have been qualified are:  Don Beyer Jr., Lavern J. Chatman, Adam P, Ebbin, Charniele L. Herring, Patrick Hope, Alfonso H. Lopez, and Mark Levine.

Five additional Congressional Candidates completed their filings today prior to the 5:00 p.m. deadline.  Those five Congressional Candidates are:  Bill Euille, Derek Hyra, Satish W. Korpe, Nancy Najarian, and Bruce Shuttleworth.

The local registrars will now review the signatures on the five Congressional Candidates’ Petitions.

I am required by law to submit to the SBE my certification of the names of the candidates who filed with me, the date and time of each candidate and that a minimum number of qualified petition signatures were found for each candidate.  My certification must be received by the SBE no later than 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, April 1.

I would like to extend my appreciation to Steve Bunn for his ongoing work on the Eighth District’s Website.  The Arlington County Democratic Committee’s Headquarters (Thanks Kip!) served as the location for all filings and Charley Conrad, Steve Baker, Maureen Markham, and Peg Willingham rendered assistance to our Congressional Candidates at the time of the filings.  Special words of appreciation to Peter Owen and Frank Leone — thanks for your guidance.

Until the next update….



Sign up for the Blue Virginia weekly newsletter

Previous articleVideo: Rob Krupicka Says His Colleagues Can Shave Their “Growing Beards” Today…
Next articleVirginia News Headlines: Friday Morning