Home 2019 Elections Heading Into Primary, Mark Herring Earns Overwhelming Support Among Virginia Democrats

Heading Into Primary, Mark Herring Earns Overwhelming Support Among Virginia Democrats


(Mark Herring is by FAR (e.g., not even close) the best qualified person running to be Virginia’s next Attorney General. I strongly encourage everyone to vote for Mark next Tuesday, and even better to tell everyone you know to vote for him as well. Thanks. – promoted by lowkell)

From the Mark Herring for Attorney General campaign: 

Leesburg – Yesterday Senator Mark Herring (Loudoun & Fairfax) received the endorsement of NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia PAC. The organization was just the latest endorsement from Democratic leaders and organizations from all corners of the state that represent thousands of Democratic primary voters.

“The support for Senator Herring has been overwhelming,” Herring for Attorney General campaign manager Kevin O’Holleran said. “Voters all across Virginia are throwing their support behind Herring because they believe he is the candidate best qualified to be our next Attorney General and take on the extreme GOP ticket in the fall.”

In addition to NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia, Herring received the endorsement of the Virginia Education Association in May. Herring has also been endorsed by former University of Virginia Professor and climate scientist Dr. Michael Mann. Mann was thrust into the national spotlight in 2010 when he became the target of one of Virginia Attorney General Ken Cuccinelli’s expensive and unnecessary lawsuits.

“Senator Mark Herring was the very first elected official to stand up to defend me and condemn Cuccinelli’s smear campaign,” Dr. Mann stated. “He showed the kind of integrity and intellectual honesty sorely missing from the Attorney General’s office. And now he’s running for the very same office Cuccinelli abused over the last four years. Ken Cuccinelli showed why the Attorney General matters in Virginia. With someone like Cuccinelli, he puts his politics first. Mark Herring has proven that he has the courage to stand up and do what’s right, and put the law first.”

Finally, Herring has been endorsed by over 40 current or former members of the State Senate and House of Delegates, and nearly 70 local elected officials including mayors, sheriffs, supervisors, commonwealth's attorneys and more.

A complete list of endorsements is below.

“Senator Herring’s message of fighting for Democratic values and putting the law first has earned him the endorsements of these organizations and elected officials. They know they can count on Mark to do what’s right as Attorney General,” O’Holleran said.


NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia PAC Laborers’ Mid-Atlantic Region 
Virginia Education Association Teamsters Joint Council 83
DC Building Trades Council   
Members of the State Senate
Sen. George Barker (Fairfax) Sen. Dave Marsden (Fairfax)
Sen. Chuck Colgan (Prince William) Sen. Henry Marsh (Richmond)
Sen. Creigh Deeds (Bath) Sen. Donald McEachin (Henrico)
Sen. Adam Ebbin (Alexandria) Fmr. Sen. Emilie Miller (Fairfax)
Sen. John Edwards (Roanoke) Sen. John Miller (Newport News)
Sen. Barbara Favola (Arlington) Sen. Phil Puckett (Russell)
Fmr. Sen. Edd Houck (Spotsylvania) Fmr. Sen. Roscoe Reynolds (Henry)
Sen. Janet Howell (Fairfax) Sen. Richard Saslaw (Fairfax)
Sen. Mamie Locke (Hampton) Fmr. Sen. Patsy Ticer (Alexandria)
Sen. Louise Lucas (Portsmouth) Fmr. Sen. Mary Margaret Whipple (Arlington)
Members of the House of Delegates
Fmr. Del. Ward Armstrong (Henry) Del. Delores McQuinn (Richmond)
Del. Mamye BaCote (Newport News) Fmr. Del. Brian Moran (Alexandria)
Del. Bob Brink (Arlington) Del. Joe Morrissey (Henrico)
Del. David Bulova (Fairfax) Del. Ken Plum (Fairfax)
Del. Eileen Filler-Corn (Fairfax) Del. Mark Sickles (Fairfax)
Del. Patrick Hope (Arlington) Del. Lionell Spruill (Chesapeake)
Del. Matthew James (Portsmouth) Del. David Toscano (Charlottesville)
Del. Joe Johnson (Abingdon) Del. Luke Torian (Prince William)
Del. Kaye Kory (Falls Church) Fmr. Del. Katherine Waddell (Richmond)
Del. Rob Krupicka (Alexandria) Del. Vivian Watts (Fairfax)
Del. Alfonso Lopez (Alexandria)  
Hon. David Bowers (Roanoke) Hon. Earnie Porta (Occoquan)
Hon. Trent Crewe (Wytheville) Hon. Kristen Umstattd (Leesburg)
Hon. Paul Fraim (Norfolk) Hon. Molly Ward (Hampton)
Hon. Michael Gillette (Lynchburg)  
County Supervisors
Fmr. Sup. Hon. Susan Buckley (Loudoun) Hon. Jeff McKay (Fairfax)
Hon. Jay Fisette – Member, Arlington County Board Hon. Floyd Miles (Charles City)
Hon. John Foust (Fairfax) Hon. Tyrone Nelson (Henrico)
Hon. Matt Gabriele (Montgomery) Fmr. Sup. Hon. John Peace (Wise)
Hon. Penelope Gross (Fairfax) Hon. Frank Principi (Prince William)
Hon. Gerald Hyland (Fairfax) Hon. Ronnie Short (Wise)
Hon. John Jenkins (Prince William) Hon. Walter Tejada – Member, Arlington County Board
Hon. Fred Luntsford (Wise) Hon. Frank Thornton (Henrico)
Hon. Dana Lawhorne (Alexandria) Hon. Anthony Roper (Clarke)
Hon. Gabriel Morgan (Newport News) Hon. Bill Watson (Portsmouth)
Hon. B.J. Roberts (Hampton) Hon. C.T. Woody (Richmond)
Commonwealth’s Attorneys
Hon. Gerald Arrington (Buchanan) Fmr. CA Hon. Greg Kallen (Norton/Wise)
Hon. Anton Bell (Hampton) Hon. Denise Lunsford (Albemarle)
Hon. Michael Doucette (Lynchburg) Hon. Anthony Martin (Nelson)
Hon. Roy Evans (Smyth) Hon. Brian Patton (Russell)
Hon. Mike Fleenor (Pulaski) Hon. Greg Underwood (Norfolk)
Local Elected Officials
Hon. Beverly Anderson – Member, City of Virginia Beach School Board Hon. Steve McGraw – Clerk of the Court, Roanoke County
Hon. Lamont Bagby – Member, Henrico County School Board Hon. Brent McKenzie – Former Member, City of Virginia Beach School Board
Hon. Priscilla Bele – Commissioner of Revenue, City of Newport News Hon. John Montgomery – Member, Henrico County School Board
Hon. Kelly Burk – Member, Leesburg Town Council Hon. Ingrid Morroy – Commissioner of Revenue, Arlington County
Hon. Dave Butler – Member, Leesburg Town Council Hon. Ross Mugler – Commissioner of Revenue, City of Hampton
Hon. Evan Clark – Member, Winchester City Council Hon. Martha Mugler – Member, City of Hampton School Board
Hon. Tom Clinton – Commissioner of Revenue, City of Falls Church Hon. Douglas Mullins – Commissioner of Revenue, Wise County
Hon. Paul Ferguson – Clerk of the Court, Arlington County Hon. Sheila Olem – Member, Herndon Town Council
Hon. Steve Heretick – Member, Portsmouth City Council Hon. George Schaefer – Clerk of the Court, City of Norfolk
Hon. Chris Hilbert – Member, Richmond City Council Hon. Richard Shelton – Treasurer, Montgomery County
Hon. John Hill – Member, Winchester City Council Hon. Noah Simon – Member, Arlington County School Board
Hon. Cathy Kaye – Treasurer, City of Falls Church Hon. Paul Smedberg – Member, Alexandria City Council
Hon. David Larimer – Treasurer, Tazewell County Hon. George Wallace – Vice Mayor, City of Hampton
Hon. Jennifer Little – Member, Mathews County School Board Hon. Robert Williams – Treasurer, City of Hampton
Hon. Marty Martinez – Member, Leesburg Town Council


There's no paywall on Blue Virginia, and we definitely want to keep it that way! If you want to help support our work, you can donate here - thanks! Also, you can sign up for our weekly email list here.