Home 2020 Elections Endorsements in July 7 Arlington County Board Special Election *Overwhelmingly* Favor Democrat...

Endorsements in July 7 Arlington County Board Special Election *Overwhelmingly* Favor Democrat Takis Karantonis

The question is more, who *isn't* endorsing Takis Karantonis?


On July 7, Arlingtonians will select a new County Board member, to replace former member Erik Gutshall – who resigned on April 6 as he battled brain cancer, a condition that would take his life just ten days later.  On May 7, Gutshall’s friend and former campaign manager, Takis Karantonis, won the Arlington County Democratic Committee’s nomination for the seat, with 60.3% of the vote in the final round of “Instant Runoff Voting.”

Also running in this election are Republican Bob Cambridge and Independent Susan Cunningham (I). Obviously, I urge everyone to vote for Takis Karantonis, for the reasons outlined here – basically, that he’ll make a superb, progressive County Board member and is the right person specifically to replace Erik Gutshall’s skillset. So, with just 10 days to go, who has endorsed the three candidates? As you can see, it’s *overwhelmingly* in favor of Karantonis…

Bob Cambridge: His website doesn’t list any endorsements.

Susan Cunningham: Her website lists one endorsement, from former County Board member John Vihstadt, a Republican-turned-independent. There’s also a strange, tepid, semi-endorsement from the pro-Republican, right-leaning editor of the Arlington Sun Gazette, which basically says IF you want to send a “message of dissatisfaction to incumbent County Board members,” Cunningham “might be the appropriate choice.” A stirring non-endorsement “endorsement” right there, eh?

Takis Karantonis: His website has a looooong list of endorsements…basically, who *isn’t* endorsing Takis Karantonis? On July 7 or early/absentee, make sure you vote for Takis Karantonis…if you liked/loved Erik Gutshall, you’re also going to be very happy with Takis Karantonis!

  • Sen. Mark Warner
  • Rep. Don Beyer
  • Arlington County Board member Katie Cristol
  • Arlington County Board member Christian Dorsey
  • Arlington County Board member Matt De Ferranti
  • State Sen. Adam Ebbin
  • State Sen. Barbara Favola
  • State Sen. Janet Howell
  • Del. Mark Levine
  • Del. Patrick Hope
  • Del. Rip Sullivan
  • Del. Alfonso Lopez
  • Arlington County School Board member Tannia Talento
  • Arlington County School Board member Monique O’Grady
  • Arlington County School Board member Reid Goldstein
  • Arlington County School Board member Barbara Kanninen
  • Arlington County School Board member Nancy Van Doren
  • Arlington/Falls Church Commonwealth’s Attorney Parisa Tafti
  • Arlington Clerk of the Court Paul Ferguson
  • Arlington Sheriff Beth Arthur
  • Arlington Treasurer Carla de la Pava
  • Arlington Commissioner of the Revenue Ingrid Morroy
  • Former Arlington County Board members Mary Hynes, Walter Tejada, Jay Fisette, Chris Zimmerman
  • Democratic endorsees for Arlington County School Board David Priddy and Cristina Diaz-Torres
  • Greater Greater Washington
  • Blue Virginia
  • IBEW, LiUNA, Mid-Atlantic Pipe Trades Association, NOVA Labor Federation/AFL-CIO, United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America
  • Sierra Club
  • 100s more, including members of the Latino community, African-American community and immigrant community; sustainable transportation advocates; education advocates; environmental advocates; cycling advocates; affordable housing/”missing middle” advocates; mental health advocates; etc, etc.

There's no paywall on Blue Virginia, and we definitely want to keep it that way! If you want to help support our work, you can donate here - thanks! Also, you can sign up for our weekly email list here.