Home 2019 Elections We Now Have a Great Idea Who the Diehard Anti-LGBT-Bigot Virginia Senators...

We Now Have a Great Idea Who the Diehard Anti-LGBT-Bigot Virginia Senators Are


Want to know who the diehard, rabid anti-LGBT bigots in the Virginia State Senate are? Check out who voted “nay” on SB423 – a bill that “[a]dds discrimination on the basis of an individual’s sexual orientation or gender identity as an unlawful housing practice” – a few minutes ago: Dick Black, Charles Carrico, Ben Chafin, Amanda Chase, Ryan McDougle, Mark Obenshain, Mark Peake, Bryce Reeves, Frank Ruff and William Stanley. Of course, these are all Republicans. And all men, other than the seriously misguided (and bigoted) Amanda Chase. [UPDATE: see below for the same exact list of Senators on Sen. Adam Ebbin’s SB 202 to outlaw anti-LGBT discrimination in public employment]

By the way, perhaps the most amazing – shocking, even – vote on this bill came from Sen. John Cosgrove (R), who in 2005 sponsored a constitutional amendment forbidding same-sex marriage, and who in 2015 voted ” to reject bills aimed at repealing the Marshall-Newman Amendment that banned marriage equality.” Also, in 2016, Cosgrove voted for a so-called “religious freedom” bill that aimed to protect anyone refusing to conduct a same-sex marriage ceremony. Heck, just a few days ago Cosgrove voted to kill Sen. Surovell’s bill outlawing discredited, disgraceful “conversion therapy” on LGBT youth. So, yeah, this guy’s been a diehard, extreme anti-LGBT bigot his entire career. What changed on this bill today? Got me, but I guess we should be grateful for small favors or something…


Sign up for the Blue Virginia weekly newsletter

Previous articleDick Saslaw’s Dominion Bill “a continuation of caving to Dominion Energy and ripping off consumers, ignoring the clear mandate from the 2017 election sweep”
Next articleVirginia Delegate Elizabeth Guzman to Give Spanish Language Response to State of the Union Address